Friday, August 13, 2010

70 Congress Dems Uncovered as Socialist Party Members

The Democratic Socialist of America(DSA) counts 70 Congressional Democrats as members of their caucus. The list of comrades was revealed in the DSA October 2009 newsletter and was posted on The list here is via Gateway Pundit.

Be clear, these Congressional reps do not proclaim themselves as Socialists on ballots or in campaign literature, but maintain the veil of the Democrat Party. The Socialist Party was a separate organization until 2007-08 when it aligned with the Democrats to support Barrack Obama's presidential campaign. The list is also not exhaustive of previous fellow travelers.

Q: How many members of the U.S. Congress are also members of the DSA?
A: Seventy

Q: How many of the DSA members sit on the Judiciary Committee?
A: Eleven: John Conyers [Chairman of the Judiciary Committee], Tammy Baldwin, Jerrold Nadler, Luis Gutierrez,
Melvin Watt, Maxine Waters, Hank Johnson, Steve Cohen, Barbara Lee, Robert Wexler, Linda Sanchez [there are 23 Democrats on the Judiciary Committee of which eleven, almost half, are now members of the DSA].

Q: Who are these members of 111th Congress?
A: See the listing below

Hon. Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ-07)
Hon. Lynn Woolsey (CA-06)

Vice Chairs
Hon. Diane Watson (CA-33)
Hon. Sheila Jackson-Lee (TX-18)
Hon. Mazie Hirono (HI-02)
Hon. Dennis Kucinich (OH-10)

Senate Members
Hon. Bernie Sanders (VT)

House Members
Hon. Neil Abercrombie (HI-01)
Hon. Tammy Baldwin (WI-02)
Hon. Xavier Becerra (CA-31)
Hon. Madeleine Bordallo (GU-AL)
Hon. Robert Brady (PA-01)
Hon. Corrine Brown (FL-03)
Hon. Michael Capuano (MA-08)
Hon. André Carson (IN-07)
Hon. Donna Christensen (VI-AL)
Hon. Yvette Clarke (NY-11)
Hon. William “Lacy” Clay (MO-01)
Hon. Emanuel Cleaver (MO-05)
Hon. Steve Cohen (TN-09)
Hon. John Conyers (MI-14)
Hon. Elijah Cummings (MD-07)
Hon. Danny Davis (IL-07)
Hon. Peter DeFazio (OR-04)
Hon. Rosa DeLauro (CT-03)
Rep. Donna F. Edwards (MD-04)
Hon. Keith Ellison (MN-05)
Hon. Sam Farr (CA-17)
Hon. Chaka Fattah (PA-02)
Hon. Bob Filner (CA-51)
Hon. Barney Frank (MA-04)
Hon. Marcia L. Fudge (OH-11)
Hon. Alan Grayson (FL-08)
Hon. Luis Gutierrez (IL-04)
Hon. John Hall (NY-19)
Hon. Phil Hare (IL-17)
Hon. Maurice Hinchey (NY-22)
Hon. Michael Honda (CA-15)
Hon. Jesse Jackson, Jr. (IL-02)
Hon. Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30)
Hon. Hank Johnson (GA-04)
Hon. Marcy Kaptur (OH-09)
Hon. Carolyn Kilpatrick (MI-13)
Hon. Barbara Lee (CA-09)
Hon. John Lewis (GA-05)
Hon. David Loebsack (IA-02)
Hon. Ben R. Lujan (NM-3)
Hon. Carolyn Maloney (NY-14)
Hon. Ed Markey (MA-07)
Hon. Jim McDermott (WA-07)
Hon. James McGovern (MA-03)
Hon. George Miller (CA-07)
Hon. Gwen Moore (WI-04)
Hon. Jerrold Nadler (NY-08)
Hon. Eleanor Holmes-Norton (DC-AL)
Hon. John Olver (MA-01)
Hon. Ed Pastor (AZ-04)
Hon. Donald Payne (NJ-10)
Hon. Chellie Pingree (ME-01)
Hon. Charles Rangel (NY-15)
Hon. Laura Richardson (CA-37)
Hon. Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-34)
Hon. Bobby Rush (IL-01)
Hon. Linda Sánchez (CA-47)
Hon. Jan Schakowsky (IL-09)
Hon. José Serrano (NY-16)
Hon. Louise Slaughter (NY-28)
Hon. Pete Stark (CA-13)
Hon. Bennie Thompson (MS-02)
Hon. John Tierney (MA-06)
Hon. Nydia Velazquez (NY-12)
Hon. Maxine Waters (CA-35)
Hon. Mel Watt (NC-12)
Hon. Henry Waxman (CA-30)
Hon. Peter Welch (VT-AL)
Hon. Robert Wexler (FL-19)
Now, someone explain to me why the Republican Party is represented by the color red and the Democrats by blue.

The life of Indigo Red is full of adventure. Tune in next time for the Further Adventures of Indigo Red.


Tom's Place said...

Blue is the new color for Socialists.

Mike's America said...

F.Y.I. I got ousted as a contributor at Flooping Aces by the Cordoba Cabal of dhimmis.

They created a provocation and used that as a basis to get rid of me.

Meanwhile, they are stuck being on the same side of that issue as Obama.

Indigo Red said...

Tom, I've taken to calling Obama "Tar Balls" after the Gulf oil spill. Now I can call him "Blue Tar Balls."

Mike, I caught your dismissal from FA. Sorry to see it happen, but I had been disappointed that MA had lost the audience to FA. I think you're stronger without the posse.

Always On Watch said...

My House rep isn't on the list. He should be -- for all the political positions he takes.

Anyway, the Democratic Party is clearly loaded with leftists -- whether or not they're on the list posted here.

Indigo Red said...

AOW, I understand the concern for individual representatives being DSA members. However, in a representative democracy it isn't necessarily how many socialists are in congress but how many hold positions of power. DSA holds a virtual majority vote on the Judiciary Comm and hold the chairmanship - 11 of 23 members, essentially a majority with the power of the chairman. Many of the other important committees are chaired by DSA members, like Charles Rangel(DSA-NY) who, until recently chaired the most powerful committee, Ways and Means, now chaired by Sander Levin(D-MI). He's not on the list, but like your guy, should be.

Progressives learned under Lenin, it isn't your gross numbers that are important, it's the few who hold the power. That's where Conservatives have failed.